iDub (Web): Guest

Contains Confidential, Proprietary, or Privileged Information Exempt from Public Disclosure
Do NOT share externally

Table of Contents

1. Invitation

Guest users can join an iDub session via an invitation email.

Click on the Open in iDub button in the invitation email.

Guests can choose to participate in the invited session using the iDub application or from the browser by selecting one of the options. 

Click on Continue on the browser to proceed.

A session page will open in a new tab and a verification email will be sent to your inbox.

Enter the verification code you receive and click on Verify.

2. Using iDub

2.1 Security reminder

Whenever you join a session, you will need to give your consent for the security reminder.

2.2 Watermarking

When you access a project for the first time, iDub will generate a unique watermark for your video. Once your watermark has been created, the project will open automatically.

Watermarked videos are stored for 6 weeks. After the retention period, watermarked videos are deleted automatically and will need to be generated again.

2.3 Session host

A project will only be accessible if an engineer is present. If the engineer is not present, the loading screen will be displayed until the engineer enters.

2.4 Talkback

There are two ways to talk to the participants on iDub. The button on the left is used to toggle voice communication through a private channel for the engineer and the guests. 

The talkback button on the right is used to speak to all participants.

If talkback is enabled, the button’s color will change to show that it’s active.

You can check which talkback channel is being used by other participants using the indicator below the talkback buttons.

During recording and playback, the talkback buttons will be disabled.

2.5 Viewports (screen share)

iDub allows you to watch the video content and monitor the engineer’s Pro Tools through two different viewports.

The video content will be displayed as soon as you join the session, but the Pro Tools screen will only be available when the engineer enables the screen share.

When the engineer enables the screen share, the Pro Tools screen will be displayed automatically, and when the engineer disables it, the screen will disappear.

An indicator on the screen share button will appear when the screen share is enabled, but you are not opening it. Click the button to open the screen.

If needed, the shared Pro Tools screen can be opened in a new tab.

2.6 Volume adjustment

If you need to adjust the playback volume for the video, use the volume slider found on the lower portion of the video player.

2.7 Session timeout

If you are inactive for more than 30 minutes, a message will show up. To stay signed in, click continue. Otherwise, you will be signed out.

2.8 Troubleshooting

If there are any issues using the software, you can click on i icon next to the project name to view the debugging information. When requesting for technical assistance the information should be provided.

Change Log

DateDetails
2022-02-15Documentation created

Contains Confidential, Proprietary, or Privileged Information Exempt from Public Disclosure
Do NOT share externally